Ruf Records Announces February 9 Release Date for Luther Allison’s Songs From the Road CD/DVD

Double live album recorded in Montreal in 1997 captures a night of magic from Blues legend.

Atlanta, GA–Ruf Records announces a February 9 release date for Luther Allison’s Songs From the Road, a live two disc CD/DVD that documents a magical night of Blues music from the legendary guitarist/singer, recorded at the Montreal Jazz Festival by Canadian Television on July 4, 1997. Distributed in the U.S. by the Allegro Corporation, the new release will retail fora special low price, essentially getting both the CD and the DVD for the price of one.

Songs From the Road was filmed just four days before Luther Allison was diagnosed with the terminal cancer which took his life one month later; thus, this document represents his last live recorded performance. The CD includes 80 minutes of the 90-minute set he performed that night, while the DVD features the 56-minute video version that was aired originally on Canadian TV. The CD includes 11 Luther Allison standout songs, including “Cherry Red Wine” his 1996 award-winning Song of the Year. “Serious,””Will It Ever Change,””Move From the Hood,”” and “It Hurts Me Too.” The DVD also includes bonus footage of an interview with Allison, as well as a documentary on his life.

For a man with only one month to live, Luther Allison showcases an amazing performance on Songs From the Road, with blistering guitar runs, passionate singing and amazing showmanship demonstrating why to this day he is still one of the most beloved bluesmen of all time. Melding blues and gospel, with rock and soul, Luther Allison’s music transcended boundaries–musical, sociological and geographical–with an appeal that endeared him to audiences all over the world. The CD captures all the raw energy that made his shows so special; and the beautifully filmed DVD brings the audience right up on stage with the legend. as the beads of sweat drip from his head and collect on his guitar, right before your eyes.

Ruf Records President Thomas Ruf was a long-time friend of Luther’s and this new release was a personal crusade of his to present to Allison’s fans as a testament to the musician’s powerful message. “The Blues lost a true hero when he died,” says Ruf in he package liner notes. “Luther had the unique ability to pull new fans into the Blues.”


(Disc 1)

1. Cancel My Check
2. Living In The House Of The Blues
3. What Have I Done Wrong
4. Will It Ever Change
5. You Can, You Can
6. There Comes A Time
7. (Watching You) Cherry Red Wine
8. Low Down And Dirty
9. It Hurts Me Too
10. Serious

(Disc 2)

1. Cancel My Check (DVD)
2. Living In The House Of The Blues (DVD)
3. You Can, You Can (DVD)
4. (Watching You) Cherry Red Wine (DVD)
5. Low Down And Dirty (DVD)
6. It Hurts Me Too (DVD)
7. Move From The Hood (DVD)

For more or to order:

Published in: on January 28, 2010 at 12:10 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s