The Twelfth Annual Native American Music Awards To Be Broadcast On Wgwe 105.9 FM & Native American Music Awards Website November 12th

On Friday, November 12th, 2010, at 7:00PM EST, the Twelfth Annual Native American Music Awards (N.A.M.A.) will be broadcast live via an audio stream by radio partner, WGWE-FM radio and on the Native American Music Awards website. Indigenous Peoples Music & Single Feather Media will produce a live video stream of the awards program. Additional reports and footage will be provided by Indian Country TV. All live coverage will be able to be seen and heard on the Native American Music Awards webpage, NAMA 12 LIVE.

WGWE, 105.9 FM, is a commercial and FCC-licensed radio station owned by Seneca Broadcasting, a subsidiary of Seneca Holdings. Seneca Holdings is an investment and economic development company owned and chartered by the Seneca Nation of Indians, a sovereign Native nation located within the boundaries of western New York. The “GWE” serves all of the Seneca Nation’s territories and our neighbors by providing entertainment, information and Native cultural programming.

Recorded live at the Seneca Niagara Hotel & Casino in Niagara Falls, NY, the Twelfth Annual Native American Music Awards will host over one dozen featured performances and appearances by Native American artists.

The Awards show will by hosted by legendary actor Wes Studi. Studi is an American Cherokee actor, who has earned notability for his portrayals of Native Americans in film. He has appeared in well-received Academy Award-winning films, such as Kevin Costner’s Dances with Wolves, Michael Mann’s The Last of the Mohicans, the award-winning Geronimo: An American Legend and Academy Award-nominated The New World (2005). He most recently portrayed General Linus Abner (an analogue to the biblical Abner) in the NBC series Kings, and Eytukan in James Cameron’s box office blockbuster Avatar.

Featured Performers include: Aztlan Underground, Victoria Blackie, Dark Water Rising, Digging Roots, Gabriel Ayala, Jan Michael Looking Wolf Band, Joseph Firecrow, Nake Nula Waun, Oshki Giizhik Singers, Skylar Wolf, Trevor Jones & Young Gunz, The Boyz, Twice As Good and ventriloquist, Buddy Big Mountain.

Special guests include: The Iroquois Veterans Post #1587, who will be opening the show, Tohono O’odham Nation Vice Chairman Isidro B. Lopez, who will be introducing the new Waila category, Alyssa & Alex Cruz, Augusta Ceccioni Bates, Wolfsheart of Big City Indians, Blue Dog/Joni Buffalohead, Bo Johnson, Bobby Bullet St Germain, Chase Manhattan, Cody Blackbird, Dawn Avery, Deborah New Moon Rising, DJ DC, DJ Wooly, Donna Kay, Eagle & Hawk, Ed Ko, Gabriel Ayala, Gertie & The, T.O. Boyz, Glenn Ahhaitty, Gloria LaRoque, Injunuity, JJ Kent, Janet Rogers, Jason Slats, Jay Begaye, Jim Boyd Band, Jimmy Lee Young, Joanne Shenandoah, John McLeod, Kelly Montijo Fink, Ken Quiet Hawk, Larry Grizz Brown of Rainshadow, Marc Brown Blues Band, Merlin Kickingwoman of Kickingwoman Singers, Michael Bucher, Mwalim, Native Era, Arielle Tiensvold, Kelly Francis, Joseph Marshall, Night Shield. Original XIT, Peter Sackaney, PLEX, Randy McGinnis, Robe Williams, Ron Warren, Short Dawg The Native, Stephanie Harpe, Terry Lee Whetstone, Tohono O’odham Braves, Wind Spirit Drum, Yolanda Martinez.

The Awardsprogram will commemorate the month of November as National Native American Heritage Month. The show will be dedicated to Teen Suicide Prevention Awareness given the recent State of Emergencies declared on Rosebud and Pine Ridge reservations as well as will honor our veterans and support those in active service. All show participants will be wearing a yellow awareness bracelet or yellow ribbon pin in honor of these dedications.

The Native American Music Awards is the music industry’s largest and independent, organization consisting of national members dedicated to Native American music and are directly involved in the creation, marketing, recording, manufacturing and distribution of both contemporary and traditional music initiatives.

Published in: on November 11, 2010 at 8:10 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: